Keegan Cup 30 Year Anniversary

Wed 3rd Nov gaeilcolmcillepro

Keegan Cup 30 Year Anniversary

Today, the 3rd of November marks the 30th year anniversary of Gaeil Colmcille’s last Meath Senior Football Championship win with a 1-12 to 1-06 win over Walterstown in Páirc Tailteann.

Under the watchful eye of Manager of PJ Carroll, Gaeil Colmcille had a flawless group stage accounting for Skryne, St. Michael’s, Slane and Navan O’Mahony’s. In the knockout stages, the Gaeils blew away Seneschalstown in the Semi-Final 3-15 to 0-08 and set up a Final meeting with Walterstown who beat Navan O’Mahony’s in the other Semi-Final.

In a year famous for the four in a row saga with Meath and Dublin, all in Kells will always remember the 3rd of November where the club captured its third Keegan Cups after wins in 1966 and 1968. Corner Forward, Eugene McGillick picked up the Man Of The Match Award and Captain Terry Ferguson accepted the Keegan Cup from County Board Chairman and Gaeil Colmcille man Fintan Ginnity.

1991 was a successful year for the club completed the Championship and League Double when Gaeil Colmcille defeated Seneschalstown in the League decider.

Gaeil Colmcille Starting XV v Walterstown: Kevin Jordan, Thomas McQuaid, Michael Finnegan, Barry Ferguson, Peadar McCaffrey, Terry Ferguson (C), Conor Ferguson, Paul Carr, Kevin Cahill, Paul Smith, Benny Reddy, Christopher Roche, Eugene McGillick, Pat Fitzpatrick, Anthony Carolan.

Fir Ionaid: Michael Farrelly, Thomas Shine, Denis Roche, Thomas Donohue, Paul Murray, Barry Griffin, John Morris, Tom Sheridan, Trevor Sheridan, Errol Roche, Andy Arkins, Mark Lynch.

Related News

View All

Headfort Arms Hotel

Proud sponsors of Gaeil Colmcille C.L.G

Visit Headfort Arms Hotel
Gaeil Colmcille C.L.G

Our Partners