Admin Login

Meath MFC: Gaeil Colmcille 1-04 Duleek/Bellewstown 5-15

By gaeilcolmcillepro Wed 5th Aug

Meath MFC: Gaeil Colmcille 1-04 Duleek/Bellewstown 5-15
Meath MFC: Gaeil Colmcille 1-04 Duleek/Bellewstown 5-15

Gaeil Colmcille made the step up to the Division 1 of the LMFM Minor Championship as they welcomed Duleek/Bellewstown to Grangegodden.

The amalgamated side made the best possible start and were 1-03 to 0-00 ahead with only six minutes on the board. Kells looked to get back into the game and Andrew Butler had his shot excellently saved by the Duleek/Bellewstown keeper.

Gaeil Colmcille did get a goal in the 10th minute when strong running from wing forward Alex Williams who got in behind the Duleek/Bellewstown backs to fire to the back of the net.

That was as good as it got for Gaeil Colmcille in the first half as everything went right for Duleek/Bellewstown scoring 2-04 without reply. It could have been worse for Gaeil Colmcille but for some excellent saves by Sean Thornton in the Kells goal to keep it at Duleek/Bellewstown 3-07 to 1-00 at half-time.

Duleek/Bellewstown continued on from their good first half showing as they kept the scoreboard ticking over and it wasn’t until the 53rd minute for Gaeil Colmcille to get their first score in the half when Luke Ronan pointed from just inside the 45.

Luke Ronan followed that up shortly after with his second point of the game and substitute Cian Donlon got on the scoresheet when he pointed in the 55th minute.

It was a lost cause for Gaeil Colmcille as Duleek/Bellewstown closed out the game and added a fifth goal. There was a consolation point at the death by Fionn Smith but not the result Kells would hoped for. No doubt better days lie ahead and they travel to Dunboyne for the second round in two weeks time with both teams hoping for their first win.

Gaeil Colmcille: S Thornton, K Vitkauskas, D Smyth, M Finlay, A Tormey, C O’Reilly, F Mullan, K Carpenter, F Smith (0-01), A Williams (1-00), L Ronan (0-02), J Brady, A Butler, C Murphy, J Jordan

Subs: P Dunne, C Donlon (0-01), J Glynn, B Brecknell, P Harkin, G Finglas

Related News

Main Sponsor

Our Partners

Proud to be part of