August 19th, 2020

Gaeil Colmcille Minors made the trip down the M3 to face St. Peter’s, Dunboyne in what was a repeat of the 2019 U16 Division 2 Final in what was a must win for both sides in the LMFM Division 1 tie.

The home side made the perfect start and hit the opening score of the game, this was followed by a fortuitous goal that deceived the back line and ended in the net.

The opening ten minutes of the game was one not to remember for the Gaeils with two more goals for Dunboyne coming in the 8th and 9th minute. Those goals were after Dunboyne struck for two points and with nine minutes played they led by 3-03 to 0-00.

Gaeil Colmcille got their opening score of the game in the 14th minute with an excellently struck free off the ground by Luke Ronan. Six minutes later and Cormac O’Reilly hit Kells second point when he pointed beautifully from 40yards out.

Ronan added his second and Kells third point of the game on 23 minutes and Gaeil Colmcille seemed to have settled themselves into the game but two points in quick succession from Dunboyne kept Kells at bay.

In the 27th minute, good play through the middle and Ronan played a lovely ball through to Ajay Tormey who called his Advance Mark 35 yards from goal and pointed for Gaeil Colmcille.

Both sides shared the next four points before the break with O’Reilly hitting two monster scores, one with the left and one with the right but it still left Gaeil Colmcille a mountain to climb as they went in 3-07 to 0-06 down at Half-Time.

The second half proved to be all Dunboyne and when they struck for 1-02 inside the openinh seven minutes the game was all but over. Things could have been worse only for Kells keeper Sean Thornton after he kept out the Dunboyne forward with a top class save.

Dunboyne’s dominance was showing all over the field and after they hit their fifth goal in the 58th minute it was the final nail in the coffin as Dunboyne ran out comfortable winners.

Gaeil Colmcille: S Thornton, K Vitauskas, P Dunne, M Finlay, A Tormey (0-01), C Murphy, F Mullan, K Carpenter, F Smith, L Ronan (0-02), C O’Reilly (0-03), J Brady, A Butler, D Smyth, A Williams.

Subs: C Donlon, J Jordan, J Glynn, B Brecknell, G Finglas, P Harkin

Share post: