February 27th, 2021

The 2020 Annual General Meeting for Gaeil Colmcille took place on Friday 26th of February. The meeting took place online through Microsoft Teams with over one hundred people in attendance.

History was made as Olivia Ferguson became the clubs first female Chairperson after defeating John Morris in a vote conducted within the meeting. Olivia spoke briefly and said it was a great honour and thanked everyone who voted for her, she went on to thank Mick saying it was a pleasure to work with him and she hoped to have the same composure as him while in the Chair. Olivia said she would like to set out a plan for the next 5 years for the club and hoped the whole club can get behind her.

In the role for Vice-Chairperson, David Courtney was voted in. There was one other position to be contested and Deirdre Williams was voted in as Assistant-Secretary.

Outgoing Chairman Mick Connell thanked everyone for their support during his six year tenure as Chairperson while numerous attendees at the meeting thanked Mick for all the work he had done for the club over the past number of years.

List of Roles:

Chairperson – Olivia Ferguson

Vice-Chairperson – David Courtney

Secretary – Mary Farrell

Assistant-Secretary – Deirdre Williams

Treasurer – Hugh Early

Assistant-Treasurer – Ann Smith

Registrar – Carol Thornton

P.R.O – Alan Tormey

Football Representative – Niall Flanagan

Hurling Representative – Seamus Ryan

Ladies Representative – Roy Mitchell

Share post: