Admin Login


Gaeil Colmcille was formed in 1964 and is located in the town of Kells.

The club gained immediate success reaching the Meath Senior Football final in 1964 but lost by 2 points to Kilbride GFC 0-08 to 0-06. In 1966 the club won the Meath Senior Football Championship for the first time reversing the result against Kilbride winning 0-08 to 0-06 after the teams couldn’t be separated after two previous games.

The club won their second Championship two years later in 1968 beating Walterstown in the final 3-17 to 1-04. The club would have to wait 23 years for them to win their third and most recent Keegan Cup in 1991, when they defeated Walterstown again in the final by 1-12 to 1-06, Terry Ferguson captaining the side that day, with Eugene McGillick picking up the Man of the Match award.  Gaeil Colmcille lost their senior status in 2004 losing to Summerhill in a relegation playoff.

The club would have to wait 9 years for their return to the top table of Meath Football when they won the Meath Intermediate Football Championship in 2013 beating Clann Na nGael in the final 0-18 to 0-05, paving the way for their return in 2014.

The club most recently has won the prestigious Feis Cup in 2015 with Barry Tormay captaining the side beating Na Fianna in the final A.E.T and they currently hold the title after winning in 2018 with Seamus Mattimoe captaining the side to beat Ratoath in the final. The club will be looking for their third Feis Cup in five years when they take on Summerhill in the 2019 final.

On the 26th of July The club we’re ‘A’ League Division 1 Champions for the first time since 1994 when they defeated Navan O’Mahony’s in the final 3-13 to 2-10 in Pairc Talteann with Brian Hanlon top scoring on the day with 2-06.

The club has won the Meath Intermediate Hurling Championship on four occasions, most recently in 2008.

Main Sponsor

Our Partners

Proud to be part of