Admin Login

Meath SFC: Gaeil Colmcille 0-09 Wolfe Tones 0-11

By gaeilcolmcillepro Sun 18th Sep

Meath SFC: Gaeil Colmcille 0-09 Wolfe Tones 0-11
Meath SFC: Gaeil Colmcille 0-09 Wolfe Tones 0-11

Seven second half points in a row secured a two point victory for the reigning Senior Champions Wolfe Tones.

Everything looked to be going in Gaeil Colmcille’s favour as in the 38th minute they led by 0-08 to 0-04 with the Tones down to 14 men but Wolfe Tones showed why their  champions and kept plucking away with the Gaeil Colmcille lead.

In a tense opening half, scores were few and far between with The Tones getting the opening score in the second minute. Conal Courtney levelled things up for Kells in the fifth minute and goalkeeper Barry Farrelly gave The Gaeils the lead in the 8th minute with a monster free on the terrace side at the hospital end.

Wolfe Tones pulled one back in the 17th minute thanks to a wonderfully caught mark but they found themselves a man down in five minutes later with midfielder Alan Callaghan getting his marching orders. Brian Hanlon pointed the resulting long range free. A Jonny Quigley point on the stroke of Half-Time left the Kells men ahead 0-05 to 0-02

Wolfe Tones, similar to the first half got the first score of the half inside the opening two minutes but that was soon cancelled out when corner back Jordan Muldoon pointed.  Fionn Reilly followed that with a point from the next kick-out to give Gaeil Colmcille a four point lead.

Both sides exchanged the next two scores with Hanlon pointing a free to leave Kells 0-08 to 0-04 ahead with 38 minutes played. With Wolfe Tones backs to the wall they chipped away at the Kells lead and by the 49th minute the sides were level.

Now with the winds in their sails, The Tones struck for three more points to take a three point lead with just three minutes of normal time remaining. As Kells went in search for an equalising goal, all that could be got was a point by substitute Evan Sheridan and as the clock hit 62 minutes, referee Cormac Reilly blew for full-time to the joy of the Wolfe Tones support.

Gaeil Colmcille: Barry Farrelly (0-01), Adam Muldoon, Adam Donnelly, Jordan Muldoon (0-01), Barry Tormay, Jonny Quigley (0-01), James Reilly, Aaron Browne, Oisin Reilly, Fionn Reilly (0-01), Seanie Curran, Conal Courtney (0-01), Seamus Mattimoe, Martin Barrett (0-01), Brian Hanlon (0-02)

Subs: Evan Sheridan (0-01) for Mattimoe, Ryan Farnham for Barrett, Fionn Ferguson for Curran, Liam Ferguson for Browne.

Related News

Main Sponsor

Our Partners

Proud to be part of