Admin Login

Minor Hurling Final Preview

By gaeilcolmcillepro Fri 13th Oct

Minor Hurling Final Preview
Minor Hurling Final Preview

For the second time in this years Minor Hurling Championship the amalgamated partners Gaeil Colmcille and Loughcrew Gaels face St. Peter’s, Dunboyne in the DG Stoves & Fireplaces Meath Minor Hurling Division 1 Championship in Páirc Tailteann on Sunday 15th October, throwing in at 1245pm

Both sides met on the 31st of August with The Gaels coming out on top in Grangegodden on a scoreline of 0-21 to 3-06. Gaeil Colmcille/Loughcrew Gaels led by double scores at half-time at 0-10 to 0-05 and the consistency of tapping over scores helped The Gaels to the win with substitute Conor Óg Ferguson pointing the final score of the day..

The Gaels had to overcome Navan O’Mahonys in Round 1 where they came out seven point victors on a scoreline of 1-14 to 0-10, while St. Peter’s, Dunboyne accounted for Trim 5-13 to 3-11. In the final round of fixtures, The Gaels knew anything bar a heavy defeat would see them advance to the Semi-Final and they made no mistake as they not only beat Trim but knocked the current holders out by 2-12 to 0-10 with Tiernan Anderson scoring the match winning point to set up a Semi-Final with Donaghmore/Ashbourne. St. Peter’s made no mistake in their final game and had eight points to spare over O’Mahony’s.

Dunganny was the venue for the Semi-Final where The Gaels faced The Moore’s and in a tense opening half it was the North Meath side that took a slender 0-06 to 0-03 lead into the break. A more consistent performance by The Gaels in the second half with the wind in their backs helped them to a 1-13 to 1-05 result and booked Gaeil Colmcille/Loughcrew Gaels into their second Minor Championship Final in three years. Semi-Final Scorers on the evening were Darren O’Higgins (1-01), Ryan Corcoran (0-03), Tiernan Anderson (0-03), Fergal Flynn (0-02), Andrew Gormley (0-02), Shea McManus (0-01), Noah Boshell (0-01). In the other Semi-Final St. Peter’s overcame what would be many peoples favourites Na Fianna in Dunganny.

St. Peter’s, Dunboyne will be hoping for an unique Division 1 Football and Hurling Double after defeating St. Colmcille’s in the Football decider last Sunday in Páirc Tailteann. There will be plenty of Minor County Hurlers for The Gaels on show Sunday with Peadar Lehane Cup winners Tiernan Anderson, Darren O’Higgins and Fergal Flynn. Captain for The Gaeils will be Eoghan Flynn, the tenacious corner back back will be one of the leaders on the day the Gaels. The match will refereed by Niall Burke of Na Fianna

Sundays game is sure to be an epic final with both sides so evenly matched with even a draw that can’t be ruled out. Hopefully we can shade the verdict and collect the first Minor Hurling Division title since 2009 when Gaeil Colmcille beat Kilmessan 3-11 to 3-07 you can read about that day by clicking here.

Gaeil Colmcille/Loughcrew Gaels Panel for Sunday:

Manager: William Anderson, Coach: Joe Lee, Selector: Ian Callaghan

Squad: Zac Boshell, Shane Callaghan, Oisin Walsh, Eoghan Flynn, Noah Boshell, Paul Hennessy, Liam Devine, Feargal Flynn, Tiernan Anderson, Darren O’Higgins, Shea McManus, Cillian Fanning, Ryan Corcoran, Jack Galligan, Andrew Gormley, Cormac Guirke, Leo Fitzgerald, Conor Óg Ferguson, John Gormley, Luke Harte, Ciaran Kearney, Conal O’Sullivan and Fionn Morris

By gaeilcolmcillepro Fri 13th Oct

Related News

Main Sponsor

Our Partners

Proud to be part of