Admin Login

Prem Champ D6: Ratoath 1-08 Gaeil Colmcille 1-07

By gaeilcolmcillepro Mon 5th Jun

Prem Champ D6: Ratoath 1-08 Gaeil Colmcille 1-07
Prem Champ D6: Ratoath 1-08 Gaeil Colmcille 1-07

Gaeil Colmcille made the trip south to Sean Eiffe Park to face top of the table Ratoath in the Premier Division 6 Championship.

On a hot, sunny bank holiday Sunday morning Gaeil Colmcille traveled with just 15 players for their fifth game in the Premier Reserve Division 6 championship. It took Kells over 20 minutes to register their first score. They were not without their chances, hitting the post twice and kicking a number of wides during that period that also saw an excellent save from goalkeeper Justy Carry-Lynch.

Despite some disciplined defending from the Gaeils, the home side opened up a three point lead with points from play, a free and a 45. Eventually Kells found their range. Gary McGovern, Sean Cleary and Liam Barry kicked three points, all from play, in just five minutes to draw the sides level. Ratoath replied with a free to restore their lead. As the half drew to a close, a long range effort from Caolan O’Connell dropped short, but Sean Cleary was on hand to challenge the goalkeeper and divert the ball to the net, a just reward for the team’s effort in the opening half.

Early in the second half Liam Barry converted a free to extend the Kells lead, but within two minutes a fortunate goal for Ratoath levelled the sides. Oisin O’Reilly from play, and Barry with another free restored the two point lead for Kells as both sides squandered a number of chances. The hosts reduced the lead to the minimum with a free midway through the half and this was followed by ten scoreless minutes as the temperature soared.

With only three minutes remaining Ratoath equalised from play but Harry Flanagan put the Gaeils ahead again less than a minute later. As the clock reached 30 minutes a free for the home side evened things up once again, and two minutes into injury time the same player sent over another free to give them a one point victory.

Gaeil Colmcille: Justy Carry-Lynch, Phelim Dunne, Bruno Griffin, Liam Byrne,
Kilian Kelly, Sean King, Niall Williams, Oisin O’Reilly(0-01), Sean Cleary (1-01), Liam Barry (0-03, 2f), Gary McGovern (0-01), Cormac O’Reilly, Stephen Mooney, Caolan McConnell, Harry Flanagan (0-01)

By gaeilcolmcillepro Mon 5th Jun

Related News

Main Sponsor

Our Partners

Proud to be part of