Admin Login

U15 D4 Shield Final: Gaeil Colmcille/Loughcrew Gaels 3-11 Blackhall Gaels 3-04

By gaeilcolmcillepro Mon 23rd Oct

U15 D4 Shield Final: Gaeil Colmcille/Loughcrew Gaels 3-11 Blackhall Gaels 3-04
U15 D4 Shield Final: Gaeil Colmcille/Loughcrew Gaels 3-11 Blackhall Gaels 3-04

Grangegodden was in Croke Park like condition for this Division 4 final between Gaeil Colmcille /Loughcrew Gaels and Blackhall Gaels.

This was the 3rd meeting of these sides this year with a drawn league game and the North Meath outfit winning by 2 points in the championship group stages.

Both sides exchanged scores early on and only for some superb defending from Blackhall Gaeil Colmcille /Loughcrew Gaeils could have been further ahead at the break. The half time score read Gaeil Colmcille /Loughcrew Gaeils 1-6 Blackhall Gaels 1-3 .

Gaeil Colmcille/Loughcrew Gaels were dealt a huge blow when Goalkeeper Conor Tunney had to be substituted due to injury, However his replacement Aodhan Early proved a worthy replacement and brought off some top class saves on his introduction.

The North Meath men upped the tempo in the 2nd half with Frankie Mcelherron and Luke Mckeown dominating at half back as Evan Connell kept the scoreboard ticking over.

Blackhall Gaels realised that goals were required but some super defending from Adam D’Arcy, Eanna Morris  Rory Smith and Peter Dunne ensured the lead was kept with the home side.

Conor Larkin was reintroduced half way through the 2nd half and his ball winning skills led to further scores from Cillian Burke, Charlie Fox and Evan Connell. Jack Hand was certainly on song and his darting runs proved a constant thorn in the Blackhall side as he kept the umpires busy.

The magic hands of Ruairi Carry combined with u13s Conan Clarke and Donnacha Ryan were a constant threat upfront while man marker Matthew Lynch was keeping the lines clear at the other end.

It was a 7pt win for the Gaeil Colmcille/ Loughcrew Gaels outfit in the end with Captain Evan Connell accepting the trophy on his teams behalf.

This was a significant victory for this group as the entire squad are u15 again in 2024 with the 1st team also through to the Division 2 final on November 4th.

Gaeil Colmcille/Loughcrew Gaels Team.

Conor Tunney, Matthew Lynch, Adam D’Arcy, Eanna Morris, Frankie Mcelherron, Luke Mckeown, Rory Smith, Evan Connell, Charlie Fox, Conor Larkin, Cillian Burke, Jack Hand, Ruairi Carry, Aodhan Early, Donnacha Ryan, Conan Clarke.

By gaeilcolmcillepro Mon 23rd Oct

Related News

Main Sponsor

Our Partners

Proud to be part of